Needam- nomenclature and Grihapravesham

The word “Needam” in Sanskrit means nest. Home for me always evokes a warm and fuzzy feeling and “Needam” just felt the right expression of that sentiment. Besides it was also the name of one of my college hostels in India and so it had another special significance in my life as well.

Traditionally all Indians first pray to the Gods and seek their blessings before we enter and inhabit any place. And although right now it was just about renovation, it still seemed very appropriate that we seek the blessings of God, with whose gracious support I was able to afford to buy a home and call it my own.

The invitee list was a very select few friends, most of who were supposed to be helping out with getting and hauling the kitchen cabinets and doors etc. from Seattle in a truck. The invitation read:

वक्रतुण्ड महाकाय सुर्यकोटि समप्रभ

निर्विघ्नं कुरु मे देव सर्वकार्येषु सर्वदा

Its time for a new start with “Needam” (means nest in sanskrit) and with the blessings of the compassionate Lord Ganesha, it gives me immense pleasure to invite you for a humble Griha Pravesh tomorrow at 10 AM.

Most of us were sick with the seasonal flu and had cold; in fact I was running a temperature and suffering from congestion, but miraculously, everything went very well.  Lol.. I remember being so disoriented that I ended up wearing mismatched earrings  (this rarely happens. Earrings for me are sacred and should ‘always’ match!).

We all did prayers together and sought the blessings of all the good spirits around us. I shall forever be thankful to these friends, because they helped me when none of my own either could not or did not help.

Even though there was so much going on and despite the sickness, the feeling in my heart was that of a gentle settling down, like a dew drop on a leaf in the morning mist. I felt happy to be sharing my happiness with others, who (lucky for me!) were also happy for me. And even though this was supposed to be a small scale house warming ceremony, it will always remain very special because my friends were with me.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Standard

Leave a Reply

